Skip to content

Endless Opportunities

January 24, 2010

J, my professor, asked the class what we would like to research in the field of communications, and to give us more incentive mentioned the Lumen Scholars program, which actually funds student research.  Although most people only think of research in terms of science and history, with the changing news industry, the number of topics are boundless.

Personally, I would like to see how online newspapers effect the way in which the public consumes the news and views the world. In print, one would flip through the paper and read headlines that caught their eye, but with the online news, one has to know what news to be searching for. Also, because one does not “flip through” an online paper like one would a print newspaper, one may only search for news that interests him; therefore, eliminating the variety of what they read. I want to know if online newspapers push consumers to become less well rounded and knowledgeable about the world as a whole.

Instead of focusing on how consumer demands influence the industry, I want to know how the changing industry effects consumers.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 25, 2010 12:11 am

    I think I do that! I search online for something specific, whereas the actual newspaper I read whatever catches my eye. I’m not an avid reader or observer of the news though. I watch more of it on tv or hear it from my grandfather; he’s a living, breathing newspaper lol.

Leave a Reply

